Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Buddhism for Everyone with JoAnn Fox

Sep 12, 2021

This episode is dedicated to Right View, one part of The Noble Eightfold Path. Right View has two parts to it: a mundane right view and a superior right view (emptiness).Today we look at mundane right view which adopts the understanding and belief in karma. It is specifically, “right view of the ownership of action” (kammassakata sammaditthi). What does it mean to live mindfully in accordance with the of karma?

“All created things are suffering.” 

Seeing this with insight, 

One becomes disenchanted with suffering. 

This is the path to purity. (278)*

—Buddha, The Dhammapada

The eight parts of the Noble Eightfold Path:

  1. Eightfold Path are Right View
  2. Right Intention
  3. Right Speech
  4. Right Action
  5. Right Livelihood 
  6. Right Effort
  7. Right Mindfulness
  8. Right Concentration

References and Links

Bodhi, Bhikku. The Noble Eightfold Path. Buddhist Publication Society, 1999, pp 12-21.  BuddhaNet.

Buddha.The Dhammapada. Translated by Gil Fronsdale. (Kindle). Shambala, Boston and London, 2011, pp. 72 (Link)