Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Buddhism for Everyone with JoAnn Fox

Nov 16, 2019

The Buddha taught The Four Noble Truths to show people a path to lasting peace and happiness. Buddha, like universal doctor, diagnosed why we suffer and have dissatisfaction. The prognosis is good, for there is a cure. The cure lies in the Eightfold Path, a noble, wise and compassionate way of life. This episode offers a mindfulness practice on the right intention, part of the Eightfold Path. 


The Four Noble Truths


  1. The Truth of Suffering
  2. The Origin of Suffering
  3. The End of Suffering
  4. The Path


The Noble Eightfold Path

  1. Right View
  2. Right Intention
  3. Right Speech
  4. Right action
  5. Right Livelihood
  6. Right Effort
  7. Right Mindfulness
  8. Right Meditation 


But when someone going for refuge 

To the Buddha, 

Dharma, and 

Sangha Sees, with right insight, 

The Four Noble Truths: 


The arising of suffering, 

The overcoming of suffering, 

And the Eightfold Path 

Leading to the ending of suffering, 

Then this is the secure refuge; 

This is the supreme refuge. 

By going to such a refuge 

One is released from all suffering. (190–192)* 


It’s hard to find a noble person;

Such a person is not born everywhere. 

When such a wise one is born, 

The family flourishes in happiness. (193)

--Buddha, The Dhammapada




Buddha. The Dhammapada. Translated by Gil Fronsdale. Shambala, Boston and London, 2011, pp. 50-51.