Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Buddhism for Everyone with JoAnn Fox

Dec 14, 2020

Within the Four NobleTruths, Buddha taught the method to end suffering, which is the Eightfold Path. The Eightfold Path has three areas of focus: moral discipline, mental discipline, and wisdom. In almost all his discourses when teaching directly to people, Buddha included the Eightfold path. In this verse, Buddha is giving an explanation on moral discipline, and if we look at early Buddhism, directly from Buddha, we see that there is a great emphasis on right conduct and moral discipline. Why would this be? It is because moral discipline is the foundation of happiness. 


Bad conduct is corruption in a person; 

Stinginess, corruption in a giver.

Evil traits corrupt people 

In both this world and the next. (242)*

—Buddha, The Dhammapada  

The Noble Eightfold Path

  1. Right understanding (Samma ditthi)
  2. Right thought (Samma sankappa)


  • Right speech (Samma vaca) 
  • Right action (Samma kammanta)
  • Right livelihood (Samma ajiva)


  1. Right effort (Samma vayama)
  2. Right mindfulness (Samma sati)
  3. Right concentration (Samma samadhi)

Links and References

Buddha.The Dhammapada. Translated by Gil Fronsdale. Shambala, Boston and London, 2011, pp.62-63.

Je Tsongkhapa. Great Treatise on the Stages of the Path to Enlightenment, by Je Tsongkhapa, Volume 2. Translated by the Lamrim Chenmo Translation Committee. Joshua Cutler, Editor-in-Chief, and Guy Newlan, Editor, pp 144-150.